Chamber Concerto No.2
for vln, gtr, hrp, ob, cl, hn, bsn, perc & pno (2011)
duration: 22’
GRT • 152

score available from
Australian Music Centre

program note
This second Chamber Concerto (like the first) is essentially non–programmatic. It is cast in a single movement of around 24 minutes duration – the longest single movement I have written to date. It brings to mind Steve Reich’s Music for a Large Ensemble (1978) and especially Pat Metheny’s The First Circle (1984) – works that I neither studied nor listened to while writing this piece, but which remain large in my imagination as single–movement works of an ebullient nature. The work was commissioned by Southern Cross Soloists (with assistance from the Music Board of the Australia Council for the Arts) to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Bangalow Music Festival, directed by Paul Dean.