Sonata for Viola and Piano
‘Leaving Earth’
duration: 23’
GRT • 196

score available from
Australian Music Centre

program note
I. Realisation (we have to go)
II. Earth Abandoned
Memory of life on Earth

Sonata for Viola and Piano is written for the Australian National Academy of Music as part of the Greenbaum Sonata Project (low string sonatas). It is the 11th in a series of sonatas written in the new millennium. The work is in 3 movements, programmatically envisaging the futuristic possibility of the Earth no longer sustaining human existence (a habitable zone), then the physical upheaval of having to abandon the planet; and finally the memory of life on Earth. The premiere performance was given by Molly Collier–O’Boyle (viola) and Liam Wooding (piano) at South Melbourne Town Hall on 14 November 2017.